Banff, Alberta – January 2017

Day 2 – Day 4

Day 2

Second day in Banff and because I hadn’t adjusted to the time change, like most people, I did not have the best of sleep and ended up getting up around 4:30AM – 5:00AM. I was awake early but the view from our room window across the morning mountains was unreal.

IMG-20170122-WA0005

After this I got changed and went out to try and find the closest open store, before doing this I messaged family etc saying that we were there safely and went, almost, straight to bed. It was a cool -8 degrees celcius and to be honest I was expecting it to be unbearable, but it was lightly snowing!! 🙂

We didn’t really do much on day 2 as I had not planned for us to do anything except relax and get our bearings of the town, as we both did not feel up with doing a lot except get food and rest.


Day 3

Woke up bright and early ready to meet my cousin, Josh, at the local breakfast eatery Tooloulou’s. It was too die for, I stupidly went for a giant waffle covered in chocolate and whip cream! (I know healthy start to the day).

facebook_1498674693803

After our breakfast we were then joined by Josh’s girlfriend, Charlotte, for a walk down Bow River to the frozen Bow Falls and up to the magnificent Fairmont Banff Springs, absolutely amazing food and views! (I completely forgot to take any photos whilst here, we got to engrossed in the haunted tales of the hotel! Once we finished our food and drinks we had a quick wonder around trying to find most of the, suposed, haunted locations we semi-succeeded.

We left the hotel once we had quenched our Ghost Hunter fantasies and took a walk over to the hire car company right out the front. Chlo and I needed the car for the following day in the early morning, we picked the car up and dropped it off at my cousins place so we could go and get some dinner! After our dinner we headed out to Lake Minnewanka in hopes to see Aurora Borealis… We did not, we saw this instead

20170123_221237.jpg


Day 4

Today is the exciting day! Chlo and I went dog sledding, what absolutely amazing experience! Both of us thoroughly enjoyed it, despite being absolutely freezing.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The pictures of the views and the snow cannot be put into words, this place is absolutely phenomenal. I recommend this experience and place 1000%. We went to ‘The Great Divide’ (The Great Divide) read up on it here.

For this tour we went through a company called Banff Tours

After the dog sledding experience we decided to carry on driving down to Lake Louise. More pictures as they’re worth more than what I could ever put into words.

20170124_11474920170124_11222620170124_112158

After our short trip to Lake Louise Chlo and I headed back to Banff and into our hotel as both of us were trying to recover, still, from the cold.

Later that day it was time for the car to go back so I met Charlotte to take the car back with me, I was uncertain whether she had to be there purely because the car went out under her name. Then we walked back into Banff, stopped to take a coulpe of photos, then ended up going back to the hotel to get Chlo to meet Josh and Charlotte for dinner.

Hope you enjoy this!

Luke

Leave a Reply

